top of page

Care for Writers: Final Thoughts

               Hey everyone. We are finally here with the last post of this series. But there will not be an announcement in this post yet about the new series. That will be at the end of the stand-alone posts that are coming for the rest of this month. So, make sure to stick around for those. So, without further ado…

 



 

Care for Writers: Final Thoughts

 

               This week I just want to leave you with a few final thoughts about this series before we go moving on to the stand-alone posts and another series. I wrote this series because I felt like taking care of yourself as a writer was something that a lot of my writing friends struggled with but that I felt was a super important thing to remember as a writer.

 

I only started practicing self-care for my writing and for myself as a writer in the last 2 years or so and I realized that it was a lot more important than I had previously assumed. I hadn’t even realized how much I was struggling with my writing because of how I was caring for my creativity and the writer part of me until I actually started doing things to make my writing better like rewarding myself and setting schedules and some of the other things I discussed in this series.

 

Previously I wrote a stand-alone post about how to write about difficult topics such as mental illness, physical illness, chronic conditions, and disability. I mostly focused on mental illness in that post and had quite a few people told me that it was a topic they were glad to see people discuss because it was something they felt was important to talk about. That’s what gave me the inspiration to write this series about how to care for yourself as a writer.

 

Everyone is different. All writing journeys, writing styles, and brains are different and some of the things that I have suggested in this series might not be helpful for you in specifically but I hope that the idea behind some of the methods can help inspire you in your own way to find ways that you can learn to care for yourself or the other writers around you. It’s an important step to take if you want to find your writing flourishing and if you want to avoid those feelings of burn-out that a lot of writers get by the time they finish each book.

 

One last thought before I finish is something I hope can stick with you as you write. It doesn’t matter how many books you write or how fast you write them – as long as you are writing at your speed and keeping yourself creative you are amazing. Some writers have the ability to write 2 or 3 whole books every year. Some writers have written books over the course of a decade. Both types of books have the potential to and have been some of the best books ever written. It’s not about the speed, it’s about the story.

 

I hope that this was a useful series for you. There are going to be four stand-alone posts throughout the rest of March and then there will be a hiatus for April and a new series will start in May. I will announce that new series at the end of the final stand-alone post. Don’t forget to like, subscribe, become a blog page member, share, and follow me on social media at the links below. And remember,

 

               Get Up, Get Writing, and Get Published. See you next week!

 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page